road-368719_1280This blog serves as a means to chronicle the life and times of my meandering Ukrainian, Polish, and French ancestors. I’ve thought about blogging for quite some time now but it was never the right time. It still isn’t for a variety of reasons but I may as well just jump in and get started! So, please bear with me as I become familiar with blogging and the associated tools!

There are three primary purposes for this blog:

  1. To share my findings with my family – let’s face it. The Internet has become pervasive in our lives. Even though my goal is to eventually write and publish a family history book, I think my nieces, nephews, and younger cousins will be more attracted to reading the information online and likely using their phones. It’s also an easy way to share more information more quickly with more people.
  2. To provide a means to begin writing content for a family history bookif I’m writing a blog to share with my family, it may as well become content for a future book!
  3. To serve as ‘cousin bait’ – more and more people are turning to the Internet for their genealogical research. I know that I’ll often Google for my ancestral names and villages to see what comes up so why not take advantage of that? Who knows what cousins might discover this blog in time?

At this point, I haven’t established exactly how my posts will take shape. Should they be chronological in the order in which I discovered material? Should they be by certain topics on certain days? Should they be random based on whatever suits my whim that day? I guess you’ll know when I know so stay tuned.  🙂

Despite not being clear on an approach, it is safe to say that there is plenty of content to share with you! Over the years, I’ve collected a variety of different records from Canada and Ukraine, taken a trip to visit the ancestral villages of dad’s parents, and had my DNA tested and found surprising new cousins!

Thanks for reading!

 

